October 06, 2024, 09:15:47 PM

Author Topic: [WM] Advanced painting techniques in 10mm?  (Read 4542 times)

Offline athensfantasy

• a Greek Warmaster fan in London
    • Loc: London
    • Athens Fantasy Wargaming
[WM] Advanced painting techniques in 10mm?
« on: October 20, 2016, 04:37:33 PM »
Hi all,

I wanted to start this thread to collect tips and tricks on painting Warmaster armies.
My Orcs army is painted with pretty standard process and a lot of washing/lining.
Yesterday I started painting some Ogres and wanted to see if I can raise my standards a bit (see attached pseudo non metallic metals the weapon - very crude as you can see).

I am fascinated by NMM techniques although obviously the scale does not lend itself to complex glazing etc.

What other techniques are you using? If any of those do not fit to the scale do you have any clever adaptations you could share?

I am toying with the idea of doing little or no washes and certainly less dry brushing and instead applying selective highlighting in 3-4 different grades of the same colour. The idea being that from a distance it would not matter if the result is a bit "pixelated" and you would achieve excellent contrast.It should also be quite quick as well.

thoughts?

« Last Edit: October 20, 2016, 04:40:48 PM by athensfantasy »

Offline Grumbledook

• Loc: Uk
    • It's a hobby, not an addiction
Re: [WM] Advanced painting techniques in 10mm?
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2016, 08:57:22 PM »
Raise your standards a bit? That axe is rather lovely..... not only that but I'm probably viewing it at at least 10x it's actual scale - let's not forget that it's still Warmaster scale!