September 15, 2024, 11:19:43 AM

Author Topic: Boarding Actions / Critical Hits  (Read 3842 times)

Offline Xca|iber

• *Transcribing Intensifies*
Boarding Actions / Critical Hits
« on: April 14, 2015, 07:26:16 PM »
Hey all, first post here.

I'm just getting into BFG and I'm trying to wrap my brain around all the rules. One thing I'm confused about is when you conduct a boarding action, how are critical hits resolved? Is the "Winner/Loser Crit on..." column in the result table for an additional crit?

Here's an example of how I've been playing it: Winner scores a 7, loser scores a 4 > Loser suffer 3 damage + "Driven Back" result. So the winner gets 3D6 regular critical rolls AND a 3+ critical roll from the boarding result. The loser then gets one 6+ critical roll against the winner.

Is that correct or am I totally off-base?
++Ask Not, Fear Not++
-------------------------
BFG:XR - The Battlefleet Gothic Expanded Revised Rules Project

Offline Bessemer

• Loc: UK
Re: Boarding Actions / Critical Hits
« Reply #1 on: April 15, 2015, 12:10:59 AM »
In Boarding Actions, you only roll for Critical Damage based on how much you won/lost by. So in your example, the winner would cause one a Critical Hit on a 3+, and the loser would cause a Critical hit on a 6+.

Hope that helps.
I refuse to be killed by something I've never heard of.

Offline Xca|iber

« Reply #2 on: April 15, 2015, 12:54:02 AM »
I guess I'm just confused by the line in the crit rules (p. 24) that says you roll for crits for every point of damage regardless of source.

How do we know that boarding works differently?

Sorry to be a pain, I just want to be very clear.
++Ask Not, Fear Not++

Offline Bessemer

« Reply #3 on: April 15, 2015, 01:56:25 AM »
On pg 34 it says "There is also a chance of each ship suffering a critical hit during the fighting as shown on the table below".