Specialist Arms Forum

Warmaster => [WMA] Warmaster Historical Discussion => Topic started by: Ole on October 22, 2013, 07:31:19 AM

Title: Overkill
Post by: Ole on October 22, 2013, 07:31:19 AM
Hi,
I was wondering if there is Overkill or not in WMA?

If i'm inflicting more hits then the Unit can take. For example inflicting 10 hits on a unit of halbardiers. They save none. Is it for caluculation of the Combat result a 10 or a 9?
The rulebook is not quite clear about this, is it?

Cheers,

Ole
Title: Re: Overkill
Post by: captPiett on October 22, 2013, 12:45:58 PM
You cannot inflict more hits than a unit actually has, so you would use 9 for calculation purposes.
Title: Re: Overkill
Post by: Ole on October 22, 2013, 12:49:09 PM
Great thanks, that's what would make sense. But do you know, where I can find it in the rulebook?
Title: Re: Overkill
Post by: Lex on October 22, 2013, 01:36:24 PM
You cannot inflict more hits than a unit actually has, so you would use 9 for calculation purposes.

Actually that is only true if they do not already carry wounds!!  Distract wounds already on the unit for CR!
Title: Re: Overkill
Post by: Aquahog on October 22, 2013, 02:05:41 PM
Page 46 headlined Combat Results, second paragraph: In cases where a unit has been struck with more hits than it can actually take (for example a unit with a total of nine hits might suffer twelve) then only count actual hits taken. Excess hits are ignored for purposes of working out combat results.
Title: Re: Overkill
Post by: Lex on October 22, 2013, 03:00:05 PM
Page 46 headlined Combat Results, second paragraph: In cases where a unit has been struck with more hits than it can actually take (for example a unit with a total of nine hits might suffer twelve) then only count actual hits taken. Excess hits are ignored for purposes of working out combat results.

Emphasis in the quote is mine..... actually in this case directly defers to ACTUAL wounds! So if you are fighting the last remaining stand of Dwarf Warriors which has 2 wounds, if you elect to assign 12 attacks to kill them, you might be misspending a lot of them...
Title: Re: Overkill
Post by: Ole on October 22, 2013, 04:51:55 PM
Page 46 headlined Combat Results, second paragraph: In cases where a unit has been struck with more hits than it can actually take (for example a unit with a total of nine hits might suffer twelve) then only count actual hits taken. Excess hits are ignored for purposes of working out combat results.

Thanks Guys, so there is no Overkill!
Title: Re: Overkill
Post by: captPiett on October 22, 2013, 05:02:15 PM
You cannot inflict more hits than a unit actually has, so you would use 9 for calculation purposes.

Actually that is only true if they do not already carry wounds!!  Distract wounds already on the unit for CR!

I was talking about the particular situation that the OP cited, but yes  :)
Title: Re: Overkill
Post by: Lex on October 22, 2013, 10:01:13 PM
I know Capt....  but it is something often oversighted! So I thought it made sense to note it    8)
Title: Re: Overkill
Post by: Ole on October 23, 2013, 04:56:32 PM
The fact that its always says hits in the rulebook is quite annoing. Why not use the terms hits and wounds as in another Major Game of GW